Conversation about the weather is the last refuge of the unimaginative

So it was over 90 in Baltimore for like the millionth day in a row today. This has nothing to do with global warming. It’s July in Baltimore. It gets hot.

It snowed a lot this winter. This is not evidence that global warming doesn’t exist.

Senator John Kerry today said that a comprehensive climate change bill was not dead. The question is does it matter. Will a mandated reduction in emissions, cap and trade or a tax on carbon make a difference?

The answer is simple, not if a lot of other things are not done as well. We as a society need to utilize all available means to create alternative sources of energy. Solar, wind, thermal, hydroelectric, nuclear, and chemical power needs to be utilized. Oil, coal and natural gas are part of the bridge to a clean environment. But other things need to be done besides new technologies. Better insulation in buildings will reduce heating and cooling costs. White roofs will keep buildings cooler. Denser cities will lower fuel costs. More good public transit, trains, subways, and light rail.

Mag lev trains and high speed rail should be built to limit the cars on the road. China, France and Japan should not have cooler trains than america. It was only after the golden spike was driven at promontory summit that america could utilize its vast resources. Those resources need to be conserved now.

It is stunning to drive up the pacific coast highway and see oil derricks from Huntington to Santa Barbara. It is unexpected but necessary today. Massive action is needed to change this situation and that will probably not begin in Washington.

About timothysutton

Hey, I'm Tim. I am a native Marylander. I did live in South Carolina for three years when I became a gamecock. I believe in a smaller government and a debate on how to make that happen. I drink bourbon because I am an American and it is my God given right to imbibe on such fine nectar. I need a new bookcase because of my obsession with reading. It helped me pass the time when I was young and my mother wouldn't let me go outside. Between that and all the bacon she put in the green beans it is a wonder I don't weigh 300 pounds yet. I hope you like what you read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

