Learn history people

So I was reading Facebook today and some woman went on a rant arguing that Governor Gary Johnson should drop out of the presidential race because he will cause Mitt Romney to lose and thus President Obama will continue to be president and kill our republic. She states that with four more years of the President we will “lose the liberty our Founders fought and died for.”

Among the liberties that our founders (I have no idea why she capitalized Founders) are the ability of to hold slaves and subjugate women. She is going to vote for Mitt Romney, and while I disagree with the choice, that is her right. A right that the “Founders” would not have given her or any other woman. Further, among those rights is the right to keep and bear arms. A right that her choice would like to infringe. Of course the “Founders” did not initially guarantee these liberties. Do a little research on the Articles of Confederation. The Constitution in fact strengthened the power of the federal government. The Bill of Rights is the first ten amendments to the Constitution.

Further, the main premise of her point strikes me as a bit pessimistic. Our nation has survived eleven score and sixteen years without perishing from this Earth. Four more years of Barack Obama will not be good for the financial well-being of the country. It will be difficult. More people will lose their jobs. More onerous regulations will be passed. I am sure laws will be introduced curtailing the ability to possess different types of weapons and accessories. But our nation will survive. Our nation is stronger than that. This election is the most important election of my life until the next one. I do not see Barack Obama doing what Lord North, Jefferson Davis, Pancho Villa, Adolph Hitler, Nikita Khrushchev and Joe McCarthy could not do. I do not see Obama ending the American empire. I think that gives him much too much credit. Further, I do not believe that President Obama wants to end our nation. He may have poor policies. He may encourage people to get food stamps; but he does not want an end to America. He wants it to be great. He just has a different idea on how that is to be accomplished.

Only one candidate running for president has a clear idea on how America can be great again. That candidate is Gary Johnson. He promises to remove the yoke of taxation from the back of all Americans. He is in favor of diversity and champions marriage equality, calling for a Constitutional amendment to guarantee the right. He has never signed a law outlawing the possession of a single firearm.  Just like the men who founded this nation believed that the white, male, American, property owners were capable of making their own decisions; Gary Johnson believes that the American people, all of the American people, are capable of making their own decisions. Those decisions include whether to vote for the lesser of two evils or whether to not vote for evil at all.

About timothysutton

Hey, I'm Tim. I am a native Marylander. I did live in South Carolina for three years when I became a gamecock. I believe in a smaller government and a debate on how to make that happen. I drink bourbon because I am an American and it is my God given right to imbibe on such fine nectar. I need a new bookcase because of my obsession with reading. It helped me pass the time when I was young and my mother wouldn't let me go outside. Between that and all the bacon she put in the green beans it is a wonder I don't weigh 300 pounds yet. I hope you like what you read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

